weareliterarycritics

Debate with other literary critics.

Quote of the Day: Jane Austen

Portrait of Jane Austen, from the memoir by J....

Image via Wikipedia

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of anything than of a book! When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library” (Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice).

Hey guys,

Today I thought I would post a quote about the love of reading and what it means to me personally.  I only “pleasure” read over long breaks because I know I can enjoy the book and not worry about other work.  I get to read many books and stories as an English major, but I admit sometimes I get rather annoyed.  Having to constantly read assigned material and then critique it makes me hate reading at times, I like to read when I want to read.  Next Wednesday, I start the infamous senior seminar exam at my school.  It is a two-day test where we have to know everything we covered for the entire year.  The first day we have 100 quote identifications, and short answers which will last five hours.  The second day we have essays and short answers which will also be five hours.  The test is supposed to help us remember great literary authors, which are important for English majors.  I understand why this is important, but I would rather appreciate these authors in time and not be forced to intake major works all at once.

I love to read, despite what I have said.  I think when I am older I will pleasure read as often as I can.  However, after college I do not think I can pick a book up for a while.  I am happy though that I was able to receive this education and learned to become a better writer.  I think hopefully when I look back at my life I will be thankful I put in all this hard work, but for now, I am dreading my tests and papers.  I think I am just stressed, maybe I will have a better demeanor when I am done with exams.  I am sorry if I just complained in this post I am sure everyone is stressed from time to time so I shouldn’t complain.  I hope you are all having a good night.  What do you think about reading?  Do you think we have the same enthusiasm about reading today?

Thanks for reading, please post your comments below!

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Quote of the Day: Jane Austen

  1. I love reading and have never tired of it. When I was younger I used my imagination to travel the world. I could read about Robin Hood, imagine I was Capt. Nemo, or even King Arthur!I used my skill at reading to further my education, and become more proficient at my job. Now I enjoy mysteries, sci fi, horror and anything that sparks my interest. I cannot tell you how much reading changed my aspirations, my goals, my life. If there was only one thing I could teach my children, it would be the love of reading.

    • Reading is a great love to have, I am glad you are teaching your children the importance of it. I think younger generations especially need to read more and if any book can inspire a young person to read then it is worth it.

  2. My dad always says if you do a little (or a lot of) hard work now, you will be able to enjoy the benefits for the rest of your life.

  3. Am reading Jack Whyte’s novels set in post Roman Britain late 400’s.

  4. Like anything else we love, reading has up and down days. Some days life gets too busy and reading has to be from the fast read lane. Other days we can feast in the gourmet read table. As a student, you probably will spend a lot of time in the fast read lane. 🙂 Best wishes on your exams and papers….just enjoy every moment.

    • I can totally relate to this I always feel like I am reading from the fast lane. I have to read so quickly sometimes I cannot even enjoy the story. I will try to savor the fun moments and work hard so I can have time off to relax.

Leave a Reply

