weareliterarycritics

Debate with other literary critics.

Quote of the day: William Wordsworth

Portrait of William Wordsworth by William Shut...

Image via Wikipedia

“Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart” (Wordsworth).

Hey guys,

Today I thought I would post a quote that connected with my article post.  I like this quote by Wordsworth because I feel many writers try to write from the heart and express their deepest emotions.  Good writing, in my opinion, is writing that can make a reader “get lost” in the words.  Writers who are able to do this usually paint a beautiful picture through their words and captivate their audience.  When I write creative pieces I try to make sure that all my heart and soul goes into what I am writing.  It may not be perfect, but it shows how I am feeling and reflects my thoughts.  Wordsworth is a master of expressing his love of nature and it is reflected in the way he shapes his poetry.  This is one of my favorite poems by Wordsworth besides, I Wandered Lonely As a Cloud.  It is captivating and I think really shows the true beauty of the outdoors.

What do you think of this quote about writing?  What is your favorite poem?

Thanks for reading, please post your comments below!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Quote of the day: William Wordsworth

  1. I must have forgotten to press post comment so try again. Although stanzas are irregular the cadence comes out clearly . It appears formless to the untrained eye but since I write my stuff with repeated syllabic count line after line, I know it takes crafting and design for this production. Unfortunately today’s readership would not catch or understand the profound imagery, metaphor and simile except professors and English majors. It is long and few readers today would take the time. But readers in his time would not see it that way as those then and two centuries before were used to reading prose with compound-complex sentences that often exceeded 100 words.

    • Don’t worry Carl, you posted your comment it is just under my analysis of Wordsworth poems instead of the quote of the day. Thank you for your input I think this gets to the heart of why many readers today could not appreciate his beautiful words. Some of his poems are long, but the crafting in it is so beautiful it is worth reading.

  2. I was so impressed with your summary and the post by Carl, that I was more able to understand and appreciate Wordsworth as he intended. Thank you both!

Leave a Reply

